The Severn Uplands area is predominantly rural in character with the main towns being Oswestry, Llanidloes, Welshpool and Newtown. The catchment includes the Clywedog and Vyrnwy reservoirs in the west and the rivers Severn and Vyrnwy as well as a collection of many small tributaries such as the Rhiew, Dulas and Carno. The conservation value of the catchment is high with a large number of designated sites and includes the Montgomery Canal Special Area of Conservation and is home to the majority of salmon and brown trout spawning rivers in the Severn catchment.